Bengal polls: Congress names 13 candidates in first list | India News

NEW DELHI: Congress released the first list of 13 candidates for the upcoming assembly polls in West Bengal.
All 13 seats go to polls in Phase 1 or 2 of the staggered 8-phase polls in the state.
Among the prominent names in the first list, Nepal Mahato has been given ticket from Baghmundi and Debu Chatterjee from Bishnupur.

The Congress is in an alliance with the Left Front and Indian Secular Front (ISF). As per the seat sharing agreement, the party will contest on 92 seats.
In the 2016 elections too, the Congress had formed an alliance with the Left Front and other parties from the UPA block. It contested on 92 seats, winning 44.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *